A Reflection on the Module

During the course of this year I have attended as many seminars as possible, all of which I have found extremely interesting (I think my favourite was actually one I didn’t even expect to enjoy) and I have doubtless gained a broader understanding of my degree topic by being introduced to ideas I wouldn’t necessarily have come across in other modules.

I also found the assignments to be a great help and particularly the dragons den exercise, to be a lot of fun. Whereas before I was probably quite underprepared for graduating university I now feel confident that I can write an effective CV and cover letter outlining my skills and relevant experience, successfully attend an interview and play to my strengths and pitch a business idea in front of potential investors.

The careers cafe was also extremely helpful as it showed me that just because I don’t have my future career sorted straight away after graduating, it doesn’t signal the end of the world, there is plenty of work for those who are willing to work hard for it.

Overall I feel that whilst most of university lectures have been about academia this module was focused more on what comes next and I feel much better equipped after taking it.



Leave a comment